Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
You Me Now
You Me Now
Publicité
26 août 2010

First I was afraid, I was petrified...

Today, I was on a mission, or rather the school sent me on a mission: finding a flat! (What?! I've litterally just turned up in this country!). In order to help me out, they provided me with a lovely guy (Mahmoud) whose job remains a bit obscure... Are you just a guy helping people to find places to live?! Surely part of my rent will end up in your pocket, you gigolo!

Anyway, I viewed 12 flats. Key words: big... err... big... and... big! I swear, Cairo is not single-friendly! All the flats have minimum 2 bedrooms and a living room as big as a classroom. What about old good studio flats?! No, there's no such thing as someone living on their own! Damn! So where do you live?! - I asked Mahmoud, noticing he didn't have a ring (he was such a cutie, I had to ask!) Well, he said, I still live with my family!...  Two options:he's very young or very cheap! I found out later that he was indeed young! Shame on me for fancying his pants...

He then took me to school in order to sort out all the admin. I must have signed 40 different sheets of paper. God knows what I agreed to... I was eventually put into a taxi back to the hotel... The school agreed with the guy on a price but once in front of the hotel he was asking for more, I was on my own, not understanding a single word of what he was saying, looking at his pointing at the meter... I swear I won't be able to deal with the whole bargaining/discussing prices/haggling kind of shit! I just can't be arsed!... People are shit!

Tonight I went for a walk in the area around the hotel... Two words: busy and dusty! Note to self: do not wear white outside!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
Easy one :) Gloria Gaynor!
M
Eh eh à peine posé le pied sur le sol égyptien que ton coeur s'emballe déjà...Je te reconnais bien là :D
M
Je sens que je vais adorer ce blog, tu es aussi dans mes favoris, j'etais morte de rire toute seule devant mon ecran :) <br /> Courage, c'est normal, c'est pas facile de se faire a un nouveau pays, mais je suis sure qu'en decembre, tu seras devenu un vrai petit egyptien ^^ <br /> Comme tout le monde l'a dit, on pense bien a toi !!!
D
Rose Doolan!<br /> Allez courage, c'est le début le plus difficile, le temps de s'acclimater ;)<br /> On pense à toi!!!
C
I agree, très bonne idée que ce blog !<br /> Bon mais alors, ces apparts, il y en avait des bien ou bien ?<br /> On pense à toi, et ok pour la carte bière, même la carte Rose Mullan si tu veux !
Publicité