Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
You Me Now
You Me Now
Publicité
29 août 2010

Where do broken hearts go?...

Today was a very busy day... No, I didn't spend the day in the toilet, and yes, I'm feeling much better, thanks for asking! I guess my body got used to tap water and street food, yeah! We'll have to see about strangers in bars now!... Anyway, it all started with a phone call from Mahmoud (Aww) who asked me to meet him at the hotel reception at 9.30am and only turned up at 11am! Yes, I know what you're thinking, but actually if you were living in Cairo you'd find it pretty normal. Egyptians are so slow and laid back about time.

Once we met, we went for yet another series of flat hunting, but I could feel that he was getting quite fed up with me being difficult, and I got all upset about it, because I was feeling guilty, because I didn't want to hurt him... Have you noticed how we started to act like a couple?! So cool, right? Anyway, I saw a flat which wasn't great but had the hugest balcony ever, I could already picture myself having sunbathing sessions on it... So after viewing other flats, I decided to go for this one, and guess what? Gone! Obviously... I was so annoyed! Mahmoud explained that this is the season when all the new foreigners in town are desperate for flats before starting their new jobs... Fair enough. But still, they're shit!

The rest of the story is quite sad, as Mahmoud definitely got fed up with me and dumped my face! Sad times... He contacted another "whatever your job is" who took care of my flat hunting. His name's Hassan. Now, you remember how Mahmoud was cute and tiny? Well, Hassan is the exact opposite!... He took me to a couple of flats but it wasn't as fun... and I decided that I couldn't be bothered anymore and that I couldn't stand losing another flat! Who needs a beautiful flat anyway when you're intending to travel around and go out every other night? So I just said yes to the most peculiar thing ever: some walls are pink with big golden stripes, it's got chandeliers in the lounge, there are mirrors everywhere in the main bedroom, and there's even a massive tea pot in the dining room...!?!?!? (Don't worry, there'll be pictures!). The good thing is that it's cheap compared to other flats I've seen and it's on the top floor, which means a lot of sun... Well that's what Hassan said, and I didn't want to upset him!

So that's it, I've got my crazy "OTT" flat and I've met the landlord, who seems to be a lovely man, a surgeon from Cairo Central Hospital (which can be helpful for when I get bitten/run over/sunburnt...) but who has undoubtedly very bad tastes!

(In loving memory of M.)

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
...Whitney Houston :D
M
... The Corrs?
M
Stuff M. - he can piss off and be someone else's gigolo ... the biatch.
D
At least, you've got a real place now!<br /> I can't wait to see the pictures, very intrigued by giant teapot ... :D<br /> And don't worry about M., you know what's expecting you later on ... ;)
Publicité